Open call for cultural institutions

Open call for cultural institutions to support the co-production of a serious game about underwater cultural heritage

Deadline: 15 April 2023


Preservation and protection of Underwater Cultural Heritage (UCH) are directly linked to major threats to the marine environment, including pollution, ghost gears, fisheries, unsustainable yachting/boating etc. The UNESCO Ocean Decade, the EU Green Deal and other international initiatives underscore the growing need for cooperation of all the possible stakeholders, from different disciplines and sectors, to conserve UCH and address related threats.

The Cultural and Creative Industries (CCI) can effectively contribute to raising people’s awareness of the need to learn about and protect their underwater natural and cultural heritage by setting up a strong transnational cooperation among themselves and with cultural institutions working in the field of UCH conservation and communication.

This cooperation strategy should be based on innovative co-production approaches that facilitate the actors involved to combine their efforts, implement participatory design methods, deal transparently with Intellectual Property (IP) and copyright issues, thus achieving their common goal of producing cultural products designed to improve communication, promotion and awareness of UCH.

To whom this call is addressed

This call is aimed to select 4 to 6 Cultural Institutions or Organizations (e.g.: Museums, Universities, Public bodies, Research Centers, NGOs, etc.) involved in the research, conservation, protection and/or dissemination of the UCH linked to the Mediterranean cultures, that wish to support the CREAMARE project by joining the partners in the co-production of the previously described Serious Game. Eligible institutions or organizations operate in the countries listed in ANNEX 1

These Institutions/Organizations will be able to promote their UCH by including the digital model of one of their sites in the Serious Game that will be co-produced in the project. Each applicant can propose 1 to 3 UCH sites linked to Mediterranean cultures particularly relevant from the historical and natural/ecological point of view that will be evaluated as described in section 8.


Applicant Institutions can decide to participate in two different ways:

1) by putting an existing 3D model of the proposed UCH site at the CREAMARE Project’s disposal so that it can become one of the Serious Game locations and participating at the Online Training;

2) by participating in the CREAMARE training courses, during which the site survey will be performed and the 3D model will be produced and used in the Serious Game.

The main benefits offered by the cooperation with the CREAMARE project are:

  • Training in digital technologies;
  • Testing of a new co-production model for the co-creation of cultural multimedia applications;
  • Improvement of the public visibility of a specific UCH site.


CREAMARE offers a unique opportunity for the staff of the selected Institutions/Organizations to acquire new digital skills about 3D computer graphics, photogrammetry, and other technologies useful for the documentation and dissemination of UCH.

How to apply

The Institutions/Organizations must fill-in the attached ‘Application Form 1 – Institution/Organization’ and ‘Application Form 2 – UCH Site’, and upload all the documents in pdf format through the Application Portal.

Application Portal
Frequently Asked Questions

Timeline and application process

Applicants could be contacted by the Evaluation Committee if some aspect of their applications should be clarified.

The evaluation of the applicants’ proposals will be made by the CREAMARE Evaluation Committee by 8th May 2023. The selected Institutions/Organizations will be contacted directly by the CREAMARE Secretariat.

The results of the selection will be available by 15th May 2023 at the following link:

Related documents
Open call for cultural institutions to support the co-production of a serious game about underwater cultural heritage

ANNEX 1 – List of eligible countries of the applicants

European Union member states (EU27)

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Republic of Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden.

Countries associated with the Horizon Europe Programme:

Albania, Armenia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Faroe Islands, Georgia, Iceland, Israel, Kosovo, Moldova, Montenegro, Morocco, North Macedonia, Norway, Serbia, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom and Ukraine.

The list is based on the official eligibility document for the Horizon Europe:

List of North Africa Countries

Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco, Sudan, Tunisia, and Western Sahara.